Events options:
Event picture
Twenty20 World Cup
Guest list
Please sign in to join the list.
There are no guest registrations:)
Event info
Twenty20 World Cup
From: Tuesday, September 11 2007, 8:30 am
to: Monday, September 24 2007, 3:30 pm
Cricket's inaugural Twenty20 World Cup takes place in South Africa. Twelve national teams battle it out at Newlands in Cape Town, the Wanderers in Johannesburg and Kingsmead in Durban. Just a few years old, the shortest form of competitive cricket has proved to be an enormous success across the world, bringing a new generation of fans to the game. In a Twenty20 match, quick runs are vital, served up in a flurry of boundaries and frenzied running, to the accompaniment of musical boundary soundbites, personal theme tunes and raucous support. International competition is in its infancy, with most countries having played only a handful of games, but, predictably, Australia currently top the world rankings and are sure to be the team to beat. The groups for the competition are as follows: Group A: South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh Group B: England, Australia, Zimbabwe Group C: New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Kenya Group D: Pakistan, India, Scotland The top teams from each group go forward to contest the "Super Eights", then semi-finals, with the final in Jo'Burg on 23 September.
Pictures & videos
No uploaded pictures or videos.
Added by:
Please login to leave a comment.
Twenty20 World Cup Reviews